• NEWS

  • GAMES

    • ESCAPING WORLD WAR II
    • RETURN TO EARTH
    • D100 DUNGEON
    • D100 DUNGEON VIDEOS
    • OTHER VIDEOS
  • DISCUSSIONS

    • DISCUSSIONS
    • MEMBERS
  • More

    Use tab to navigate through the menu items.
    MK GAMES LOGO.png

    FOR FUN ASK ALEXA "WHAT IS D100 DUNGEON?"

    • Grey Facebook Icon
    • Grey Twitter Icon
    • Grey YouTube Icon
    To see this working, head to your live site.
    • Categories
    • All Posts
    • My Posts
    xris
    Nov 26, 2021

    Which has preference, Map tiles or Geographical tiles?

    in D100 DUNGEON

    I rolled a, "39" on Table M - Mapping (a green straight with a door on the opposite side of the tile) and then rolled a "30" on Table G - Geographic (a Rope Bridge with an opening on the other side to the right).

    What should I draw? Is the location a straight through corridor or a right hand corner? Should I include a door or not? Which tile has preference, I can't find any guidance in the rulebook.


    If it makes any difference, I'm using the Mapping Game and the Geographic feature is represented slightly differently than the core rulebook.


    I notice the same sort of question applies to other Geographic features such as Rivers, Chasms, Portcullis, Boulders. How are you meant to interpret Mapping tiles such as dead ends, left or right turns, etc., when the tile doesn't match the configuration of the Geographic tile?


    Thanks

    9 answers1 reply
    0
    10 Comments
    Commenting has been turned off.
    A
    ajurban
    Nov 27, 2021

    I think you answered it adequately. Remember first, it is just a game, second we are trying to help each other "ENJOY" the game. There are more important things in this life then to argue over game rules. Third, you can play the game with any home rules you want. So If you want a side exit then go for it.

    1

    M
    Martin Knight
    Nov 27, 2021
    •

    The walls in the diagram are there as an example of how they will look when added to an area. I am not having it both ways. You say: There's nothing said about not adding the walls. In rules of chess, it doesn't say don't move your king two spaces. I also do not acknowledge anything due to the mapping game. I designed the mapping game to implement the paper version into a board game experience. The overlay tiles get placed on the map tiles, as the obstacle gets drawn on the dungeon sheet. I think I did a great job making a complex and heavily luck based dungeon crawler into a simple add on that could map dungeons for you as you play.


    On another note: My goal with this forum, is to discuss rules and features of the game, and for everyone who partakes to have an enjoyable experience. In my previous reply to this question I made acknowledgement of the issue and said I would take it in to consideration. I have taken a lot of time out to answer this question and others you have raised here on the forum and help explain the rules. There was absolutely no need for your last reply, which is borderline trolling. Please try and use the forum a little more sensible and refrain from venting your frustrations.


    gif

    The Following is a message that xris posted at the time the conversation was closed.


    From xris: I apologize if you think I'm trolling with my replies. In honesty, I think I'm providing constructive criticism. I'm not just replying "This is wrong, do it right". My replies haven't meant to be aggressive, in a forum it's difficult convey such context, this has meant to be a discussion to help others (not just me) to understand your intent of the Geographical tiles. I give actual reasons why I think further explanation would help everyone.


    Thank you xris for such a sincere apology.

    1

    xris
    Nov 27, 2021

    The instructions do tell you to add the obstruction. Well, the obstruction includes the walls, after all, why are they shown if they aren't part of the obstruction?

    You can't have it both ways. You say there's nothing about adding the walls. There's nothing said about not adding the walls. The diagram is all we have and the diagram clearly shows where there are walls and where there aren't walls. It's not as if the obstacle is in a simple box, the obstacle is shown with detailed walls and gaps. Those gaps must mean something otherwise why are they there?

    This particular problem has been removed with the Mapping Game. This shows you acknowledged the walls do not (or should not) belong to the obstacle. All I'm suggesting is the core rulebook reflects this change.

    As for the grayness of the walls shown in Table G. My reply to that is you shouldn't assume colour to begin with. Page 26 tells us that areas can be marked with a Y, R, G, or B. The grey walls are just acknowledges that colour (or letter abbreviation) doesn't change due to the obstacle.

    1

    M
    Martin Knight
    Nov 27, 2021
    •

    Well The instructions do say to add just the obstacles to the dungeon sheet, it mentions nothing about adding the walls too. The walls are shown greyed out, so you would have to wonder what modifier you should be applying when searching, if you added the grey walls. Your the first to raise this to my knowledge, but I will take your point into consideration next time an update is made to the core book.

    1

    xris
    Nov 27, 2021

    That answers my question. Thanks. I really don't see how this conclusion can be arrived at just reading the core rulebook. That suggests either both exits past the bridge are present or neither of them are.

    Table G - Geographic really needs to be errata'ed as entries such as G18, G30, G41,G44, G49, G51, G59, and G65 are wrong (at least the diagrams are incorrect).

    The Mapping Game components give a better idea how these tiles are meant to be implemented but that requires the Mapping Game to have been purchased, even then the Mapping game doesn't explain how you deal with G49 or G51 in full. Not everyone who plays D100 Dungeons have access to the Mapping Game.



    1

    M
    Martin Knight
    Nov 27, 2021
    •

    Okay so I see your confusion, you only add the bridge and chasm, not the walls to the area, so below is correct.


    1

    xris
    Nov 27, 2021

    There appears to be a misunderstanding here.

    I'm using the core rulebook. I rolled 39 on Table M - Mapping.I rolled 30 on Table G - Geographic.


    This shows a straight through corridor with a door at the far end.

    This shows a right hand corner with an exit to the right.


    What do I draw? G30 blocks the door exit and M39 blocks the right hand opening.



    For example, which is correct? No exits or a Door and an exit?



    1

    M
    Martin Knight
    Nov 27, 2021
    •

    The overlay tiles do match the configuration of those from the table. You have placed the map card, and drawn the geographic counter, and found the overlay tile. You lay it on top of the map card as instructed by the mapping game rules. The doors remain unaffected by the geographic feature, there is nothing to suggest otherwise. I assume you are trying to use the overlay counter, in place of the map card, which is not the case.

    1

    M
    Martin Knight
    Nov 27, 2021
    •

    The mapping game instructions booklet informs you to place the overlay on top on the map card and has information how it is orientated.

    1
    xris
    Nov 27, 2021
    Replying to

    No it doesn't. The Mapping Game instructions does not tell you what you are meant to do with a door.

    The Map Tile shows a door, the Geographic tile does not. The Mapping Game doesn't tell you at all what to do with the door at all.

    How is this situation resolved if I'm not playing the Mapping Game? How are people who do not own the Mapping Game meant to resolve this ambiguity?

    Like
    10 comments
    MK GAMES LOGO SQ.png

    © 2021 MK GAMES and MARTIN KNIGHT - www.mk-games.co.uk                        MK GAMES PRIVACY POLICY

    • Grey Facebook Icon
    • Grey Twitter Icon
    • Grey YouTube Icon